BB200 Bivvy bike setup

Okay, you might have seen a few pictures I have posted recently for the BB200 event. I have my kit pretty much sorted now and have loaded the bike up with what I intend to use for the event for the first time…altogether.

Up until this point I have ridden the Rudy Fat with different elements, evaluating each component and part as I go to see if, first up it works, will I need it and could I ride with it for the whole event.

I suppose I should give a little background before I go too in depth. I first came across the minimal bike packing scene when Stuart from Bear Bones Bike Packing questioned the need/suitability of the Rudy Fat and the 29+ wheels for the kind of riding they do. To be honest I had never done this kind of thing before so I sent him the Rudy Fat to test, the review can be seen here. He liked it, so I guess it is only right that I enter one of their events to see for myself, I chose the BB200.

What is the BB200? to be honest I am not 100% certain! The BB bit stand for Bear Bones and the 200 bit is the distance 200km. I know you have to ride self supported, with a sleeping bag, bivvy or tent, Front and rear light and a mobile phone. The course is sent to you 3 days before the event and it’s based around mid Wales. Other than that I am not really sure what I have let myself in for.

I have ridden a number of endurance mountain bike event over the last couple of years including a couple of solo 24hr races where I have ridden further than 200km, these have all been on circuits where you come back to the pit area and you can refuel, relax and sort out any mechanical issues. The BB200 you need to carry everything you will need. I am quite picky and being a XC racer at heart weight is a major issue for me, with that in mind I researched every element and where possible tested everything first.

The obvious thing to start with is the bike, I am in the fortunate position of being able to pick from the whole range of frames that Travers Bikes produce. The Rudy Fat was the obvious choice. I have ridden it in nearly all the endurance race I have done this year and to be honest this is just the event I had in mind when I designed the frame around the large 29+ wheels. Simplicity is the key, no suspension, lightweight with 1×10 gears, its pretty much bomb proof.

I have decided to run a dynamo hub system on this event mainly for security and my own peace of mind, with this set up I can either run the main light, or charge my Garmin/phone off the USB port.

I will write a short review of each of the components I have chosen to use and why over the next week.

http://www.traversbikes.com

Rudy Fat bivvy bike set up
Rudy Fat bivvy bike set up
Rudy Fat bivvy bike set up
Rudy Fat bivvy bike set up
Rudy Fat bivvy bike set up
Rudy Fat bivvy bike set up
Rudy Fat bivvy bike set up
Rudy Fat bivvy bike set up
Rudy Fat bivvy bike set up
Rudy Fat bivvy bike set up
Rudy Fat bivvy bike set up
Rudy Fat bivvy bike set up
Rudy Fat bivvy bike set up
Rudy Fat bivvy bike set up
Leave a Reply

